San Antonio Family Violence Lawyer
Trusted Legal Representation By Criminal Defense Attorney
Family Violence/Domestic Violence
Case Result - Assault Family Violence - Dismissed
Client was arrested and charged with assaulting her husband with a high heel shoe. Mr. Bloomquist explained the evidence supporting self –defense to the prosecutors and set the case for trial. On the day of trial the all charges were dismissed.
Read More >>
A simple family argument can become a nightmare. Raised voices can lead the neighbors to call law enforcement. The officers arrive and the family members are angry and excited and a few simple words spoken in haste can result in someone leaving in handcuffs. The reality is these are the most difficult calls for officers. Law enforcement officers have to make spilt second decisions and they are generally very concerned that if they leave, the perceived victim could be hurt and they may be accused of doing nothing to protect them. At Larry Bloomquist, Attorney at Law, our San Antonio domestic violence attorney stand by your side when you are wrongly accused.
The Possible Charges and Consequences
You can be charged with family violence if an altercation leads to any physical contact that causes any amount of physical pain committed against a family member or someone in a dating relationship. It is a class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of a $4,000.00 fine and up to 1 Year in the county jail. The sentence may be probated for up to 2 years.
These cases involve contact such as a:
Second offenses are considered 3rd-degree felonies and are punishable by up to a $10,000.00 fine and confinement from 2 years to a maximum of 10 years in prison. The sentence can be probated for up to 10 years. Aggravated assault is either causing serious bodily injury to a person or using a deadly weapon to threaten a person with imminent bodily injury. These are both 2nd-degree felonies punishable by up to a $10,000 fine and confinement from not less than 2 years nor more than 20 years in prison. The sentence can be probated for up to 10 years.
If the aggravated assault causes serious bodily injury and a deadly weapon is used in the commission of the crime against a family member or someone in a dating relationship, it is a felony of the 1st degree punishable by a fine up to $10,000.00 and not less than 5 years nor more than 99 years or life in prison. A sentence of 10 years or less in prison may be probated for up to 10 years. In addition to the above penalties, there may be other penalties such as a limitation on your right to possess or carry a firearm. You may also be targeted by a protective order forbidding you to go to certain places.
We handle criminal law cases throughout Central Texas, including, San Antonio, Seguin, New Braunfels, and Boerne, Texas.